Kilifi Governor Gideon Mung’aro has reshuffled the transition cabinet to enable residents to continue to enjoy services as he waits to appoint his own team.

According to the constitution, a Governor has no powers to appoint members of his cabinet until the names are taken to the county assembly for approval and to the County public service board.

The newly elected Members of County Assembly have not been sworn in to enable the vetting process for the governor’s appointees and this will force Mr. Mung’aro to continue retaining the County Executive Committee Members (CECM) of his predecessor, Governor Amason Kingi.

A section of the CECM and Chief Officers resigned from their positions to seek elective posts in the just concluded general election, forcing Mr. Kingi to assign some of his cabinet members acting roles in the vacant departments.

“I have today made a raft of changes as outlined below in the Kilifi County executive to enable my administration to deliver critical services and functions in a timely manner during this transition period. The following County Executive Committee Members shall serve as follows, Dr. Anisa Ahmed Omar as the County Executive Committee Member for Gender, Social Services, Culture & Sports and hold brief in the departments of Water, Environment, Natural Resources & Forestry – Agriculture, Livestock Development and Fisheries,” he stated on Tuesday evening in his office.

He also retained Mr. Charles Dadu Karisa as the CECM for Health Services who will also hold briefs in the departments of Roads, Public Works and Transport, Trade, Tourism and Co-operative Development.

Also retained is Ms. Racheal Mbula Musyoki, the CECM for Education and ICT who will also oversee the departments of Department of Devolution, Public Service and Disaster Management and Ms. Maureen Mnyazi Mwangovya who is the CECM for Lands, Energy, Housing and Urban Development will oversee the Department of Finance & Economic Planning.

Mr. Mung’aro also directed four CECM members to proceed on terminal leave and they might be recalled when their services are required.

They include Prof. Josphat Kazungu Ziro Mwatelah, Prof. Gabriel Katana Gona, Mr. Mwachitu Karisa Kiringi, Ms. Nahida Mohamed Athman and Ms. Luciana Jumwa Sanzua.

The office of the County Attorney will be held in acting capacity by Mr. Henry Faraji Chipinde who currently serves as the County solicitor after the expiry of Ms. Bibi Fondo’s contract while the contract of the County Secretary and Head of Public Service was extended for six months.

“I have extended the contract for the current office holder, Mr. Mkare Arnold Jefwa, for a further period of six months and he will also serve as the accounting officer of all County departments in accordance with Section 31 (c) of the County Governments Act, 2012,” he said.

On the positions of Chief Officers, Mr. Mung’aro appointed directors in the relevant departments to the office in an acting capacity.

Mr. Mung’aro directed the outgoing CECM and Chief Officers to hand over their offices before the week ends.

“The new team starts immediately and the Chief Officers and CECMs whose terms have expired have up to Friday 4:00 o’clock to hand over their offices to the new team as they head home and it is my expectation, and that of the great people of Kilifi County, that these officers shall undertake their assignments with utmost diligence and commitment,” he added.

“For those whose terms of contracts have ended, on behalf of the people of Kilifi, I extend my gratitude for your service and wish them the very best in their future endeavors,” he said.

By Treeza Auma

Treeza Auma is a Digital Content Producer and founder of KTMN She is also Television journalist at Kenya News Agency and Leadership Accelerator at Women in News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *