Former Ganze Mp Teddy Mwambire has been elected as the second speaker of the Kilifi county assembly while Ruruma ward MCA Naftal Nyae Kombo of Jubilee party is the deputy Kilifi county speaker.

Mr. Mwambire who was fronted by the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) got a total of 37 votes against his close rival James Mlewa fronted by the Pamoja African Alliance party (PAA) who got 13 votes during the election on Tuesday.

Kilifi governor Gideon Mun’garo, his Deputy Florah Chibule, Kaloleni MP Paul Katana, his Ganze counterpart Kenneth Karisa and Women Representative Getrude watched the proceedings from the public gallery.

ODM is the majority party in the assembly with 18 out of the 35 elected MCAs while PAA and the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) have six MCAs each, Jubilee has one and the rest are independents.

Mwambire who is also the Kilifi ODM chairman lost the Ganze parliamentary seat to Kenneth Kazungu of the PAA party.

However, there was tension at the county assembly after a section of candidates protested that there was no transparency during voting of the speaker position in the assembly chambers.

They were later pushed out by the assembly orderlies.

By Treeza Auma

Treeza Auma is a Digital Content Producer and founder of KTMN She is also Television journalist at Kenya News Agency and Leadership Accelerator at Women in News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *