Migori ODM chairman Phillip Makabongo (on knees) converse with National Assembly minority whip Opiyo Wandayi and Suna West MP Peter Masara. PHOTO: IAN BYRON,KTMN

The Orange Democratic Party (ODM) has cracked a whip on ‘rebel’ legislators perceived to be working in cohorts with the ruling Kenya Kwanza government.

Through its Migori branch leadership, the party has written to the National office seeking to expunge Uriri MP Mark Nyamita and his Rongo Constituency counterpart Paul Abuor in renewed efforts to consolidate its support base in the Luo Counties.

Last Friday, the Raila Odinga led Party held a delegates meeting attended by National Assembly minority whip Opiyo Wandayi, Migori governor Ochillo Ayacko and  three other legislators; Walter Owino (Awendo), Peter Masara (Suna West) and James Nyikal (Seme).

Among the pertinent issues raised in the daylong meeting was whipping errand legislators and Members of the County Assembly perceived to be championing the Kenya Kwanza agenda.

Of concern was the runaway defiance by Mr Nyamita and Mr Abuor who have lately inclined towards the government, a move the duo have maintained was for the common good of the electorate.

Addressing the delegates shortly after the meeting, Migori ODM Chairman Phillip Makabong’o read some of the resolutions that declared the two legislators nonmembers of Mr Odinga’s party “with immediate effect.”

“Uriri delegates have brought a letter and other supportive documents indicating that Mr Mark Nyamita is terminated and expelled from the party. Consequently, the delegates from Rongo have also provided us supporting documents expunging Mr Paul Abuor from the party.”

Phillip Makabongo

ODM had earlier sent a letter to the party’s renegade MPs seeking to expel and deregister the legislators over their incessant dalliance with President William Ruto.

The Orange Democratic Party headquarters in Nairobi. PHOTO:POOL

In February, through a letter addressed to the nine legislators, ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna noted that the party had initiated disciplinary process in line with the party’s constitution.

“Internal mechanisms have been initiated with a view of processing it for action by the relevant Party organs in accordance with the Party Constitution and any other relevant law.”

Edwin Sifuna

Those listed were Senator Tom Ojienda, MPs Gideon Ochanda, Caroli Omondi, Elisha Odhiambo, Paul Abuor, Mark Nyamita and Phelix Odiwuor.

“As per the party constitution, a member may be deemed to have resigned from a political party if that person promotes the ideology, interests or policies of another political party.The members have been faulted for associating themselves with President William Ruto and therefore they are deemed to have resigned from ODM..,” read the letter in part.

The legislators have however stayed put, noting that their state house visit as well as the close working ties with the government was for the benefit of wananchi.

Migori governor Ochillo Ayacko adressing ODM delegates. PHOTO: IAN BYRON,KTMN

This comes even as President Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) continued its onslaught on Mr Odinga’s backyard by launching a massive membership recruitment.


Managing Editor, Writer and Political Affairs Enthusiast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *